David Ross commented on a photo of you. 4

I have no idea who “David Ross” is and this WASN’T sent to the email address I use on Facebook.

I haven’t clicked on the photo link which DOESN’T got to Facebook – this is the link http://100.203-211-143.static.qala.com.sg:8887/facebook.com/?fbid=17482455130&set=p.124214211&mid=3ug7r238g723f732df23

I hope you can see that it ISN’T a link to the real Facebook website.

The email is addressed to “undisclosed recipients” not to me personally.  Be careful with Facebook emails.  As with bank emails, it is better to log DIRECTLY into your Facebook account to catch up with the latest activity.

If any reader of this post has clicked on the link, perhaps they can tell us where it takes you.  My guess is that it will take  you to a fake Facebook log-in page and the scammer is after your facebook account details.

Edit: It seems some readers have clicked on the link. If you have, I suggest you download and scan your computer with at least the free version of malwarebytes, in case any malware has been placed on it. I scan my computer with it every week.

Subj: David Ross commented on a photo of you.

David Ross commented on a photo of you.

Reply to this email to comment on this photo.

David wrote:
To see the comment thread, follow the link below:


The Facebook Team

Find people from your Windows Live Hotmail address book on Facebook! Go to: find-friends/?ref=email

If you don’t want to receive these emails from Facebook in the future, please follow the link below to unsubscribe.
Facebook, Inc. P.O. Box 10005, Palo Alto, CA 94303

4 thoughts on “David Ross commented on a photo of you.

  1. Reply William OBrien Nov 17,2011 6:46 pm

    I received a call from David Ross saying that I had won $ 2,500,000.00 from the PHC and I would have to send him $ 800.00 to cover taxes. I refused and hung up on him.

  2. Reply Nick Nov 7,2011 6:12 pm

    Clicked the link (as I do know a David Ross) but no page displayed.

  3. Reply Nick Nov 7,2011 10:57 am

    I clicked the link out of curiosity too, but then I thought… in between clicking the link and the browser eventually loading Facebook, what file transferring is taking place? Are they collecting personal data? Did they just grab my Facebook login details? Better not to click these links at all.

  4. Reply Rich Nov 7,2011 9:39 am

    I have clicked on the link… it first went to a page which appeared blank and after a few seconds went to my real facebook page


Leave a Reply